Making Things Better

We’re seeing a lot of stuff in the mainstream media about places like Ferguson here lately, and, of course, lots of jokes and memes about it on Facebook (and other social media as well, I’m sure).

Now, regardless of what you think about the issue at hand in Ferguson, whether you think that cop was justified or not, I think what’s happening is a symptom of larger problems in this country. For one, it doesn’t seem to me that destroying your neighborhood is a good way to protest what you see as a social injustice. If Michael Brown was innocent, how does destroying another innocent person’s livelihood prove that point? How does stealing all their merchandise show you’re tired of being the underdog?

prince-ea-memeI recently discovered a man who goes by the name Prince EA on Facebook. He’s a successful guy, to judge by his YouTube views. He lives in north St. Louis, a guy who got tired of the rap game—though he still likes rap—and decided to improve himself. In doing so, he discovered a lot of philosophy along the way, and he’s sharing it with the world to the best of his ability.

Looks to be working pretty good, too.

Prince EA doesn’t push any kind of religion. He pushes accepting one another as we are by working to improve ourselves first. Never mind skin color, ethnicity, any of that. Just improve yourself. In the video I saw, he states that, if we all do this, we won’t have things like Ferguson happening, because if we all work to improve ourselves, we won’t be so quick to judge others based on something as minor as skin color. In fact, we might not be so judgmental at all.

At the bottom of all his talk, that’s what it all boils down to: make yourself better. Do that and the rest will take care of itself. Stop listening to the pundits. Stop listening to the haters who are pushing their own agenda. Stop identifying with political parties and start identifying with philosophies that build ourselves and others up rather than tearing them down.

As he puts it, focus on the being that’s looking out from your eyes, that’s traveling in your body. If each and every one of us did that, the world would be a better place.

Of course, being the cynic I am, I don’t expect that to happen. But here’s the thing: I don’t have to. All I have to do is make myself better, and hope that my example will lead one other person to do the same. I know I’ve been neglecting my own inner growth in a lot of ways, and I need to get back to doing that. I was much happier when I focused at least some of my time on that.

Let’s make the world a better place, one person at a time. What do you say?

Later,
Gil

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General

Leave a Reply

