The Burning Room

I’m a big Michael Connelly fan, so when I had a chance to enter a contest to win a free copy of his newest Harry Bosch book, The Burning Room, I jumped at it, neverburning room figuring I’d actually win.

But I did.

About a week ago, I received my ARC of the book, I was in the middle of another book at the time and had to finish it first (an excellent fantasy called Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan, which you need to read if you like fantasy…or maybe even if you don’t). But as good as Promise of Blood was, I became a little impatient to finish it so I could start on The Burning Room.

For me, Christmas tends to come in November these days, because that’s about the time Mr. Connelly and Robert Crais release their new books (both have new ones out this year).

But, to be honest, the last couple of Harry Bosch books haven’t quite been up to par for me. They were still good, but not great, if you get my meaning, so I was a little leery of his latest. To be fair, his Mickey Haller books, on the other hand, have maintained their quality, if not gotten better with each installment, so it balances out.

But with The Burning Room, Mr. Connelly has returned to form and then some. This book was hard to put down, to say the least.

Harry Bosch is getting closer and closer to mandatory retirement, and he’s been teamed up with a young woman named Lucia “Lucy” Soto, a brand new detective. The idea the brass has is to team up veterans to rookies in order for the veterans to impart their experience to the newcomers.

Their case is a unique one to say the least. Though the crime was committed ten years earlier, the victim has only died in the last couple of days, and his body contains the critical piece of evidence: the bullet. It’s been lodged in his spine all these years in such a way that removing it posed a danger to his life. That life hasn’t been good. He’s lost both legs and an arm to complications from being shot.

Just as interesting as the case is the developing relationship between Harry and Lucy. Harry is leery of her at first, but she proves to be as dedicated to doing her job as he is, and by the end of the book he sees her as something of a protégé, and certainly as his partner, possibly the best one he’s had in his career.

All in all, The Burning Room was hard to put down and, as I neared the end, I didn’t want it to be over while I still wanted to see how the case turned out. For me, that’s the sign of a good book, and this is the best Harry Bosch in a couple of years. And the end will definitely leave you wondering what’s next for the detective.

Go out and get it when it’s released November 4. You won’t be disappointed.

Later,
Gil

Leave a Reply

