Catching Up

Well, it turned out my “vacation” from writing on Pipeline lasted about ten days. I guess I got a little ahead of my subconscious or something. It even affected writing here, since I didn’t feel up to posting last week. I have to admit that it’s hard sometimes to spare the energy for this blog when I’m pouring so much into my novel.

As far as the novel goes, I’m still not sure how long it’ll end up being. Right now I’m still thinking somewhere between 100,000 and 120,000 words, depending on how the story goes. But, like I said before, I wasn’t expecting my guy to get involved in a shoot-out south of the border. The more I think about that, the more ramifications I can come up with. I suppose, in a way, that’s good, because it gives me options for continuing the story.

In the inspiration department, I’ve discovered (with the help of a local librarian) an author named Don Winslow (if you look him up on Fantastic Fiction, be aware there are two authors by that name and I’m not referring to the one who writes erotic novels, as you’ll see). I’ve read The Death and Life of Bobby Z, which is one of his older novels, and I’m working on The Power of the Dog. This last one is an epic novel of the drug war around the border. Characters vary from cartel leaders to a Catholic priest, a DEA agent and a high-priced call girl. They are all interesting characters and, like any good epic, how their stories tie together is captivating. Along the way you learn a lot about the drug wars and some of it you could probably do without.

It’s good for me to read this kind of stuff, though, because it helps broaden my own knowledge base about this whole drug war business. And, considering that figures at least peripherally into my novel, that’s all to the good.

So, anyway, I’ve managed to get back to writing, and the story seems to be taking some interesting turns. They’re still trying to anticipate what will come from this shoot-out (and so am I). I’ll try to keep you updated on what happens. Unless, of course, you’d rather not be updated and would prefer waiting for the novel to get published (cross your fingers!).

Well, I guess that’s about it for this week. Thanks for hanging in there with me.

Later,

Gil

One thought on “Catching Up

  1. Russell

    Glad you’re back at it. I can tell you from personal experience these stories just won’t write themselves. Sometimes I find it very hard to get motivated enough to work on my short story. One evening I sat in front of the computer for over an hour and wrote 7 whole sentences. Every single word had to be chewed up, spit out, arranged & rearranged at least 17 times before I considered the sentence mediocre enough to move on to the next line.

    Finishing this story is especially excruitating when I have two or three great titles for humor pieces scrawled across my dry erase board just screaming to be written.

    I’m not going to let the damn thing whip me, though. It’s an exercise in self-discipline to work on it–for it truly is WORK. I didn’t know what I was getting into when I started this piece, but it’s a lesson I won’t soon forget.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

