Just A Little Update

For those of you who still check on this blog, I’m still doing okay. Well, in some ways, better than okay. The writing has been going great. I didn’t do well with the handwriting part. In two weeks I only wrote twice (I think I said that in my last post). But, I looked at my spreadsheet and, overall this month, in 12 days of writing (that includes last night), if I remember the numbers correctly I’ve written over 30,000 words, all on my crime novel Pipeline. In fact, a couple nights ago I wrote 4,000 in one sitting. And it was a night when I didn’t think I’d be able to get very far. I’m not saying any of this to try to seem superior. Not at all. As a rule, I’ve always been a lazy writer, but this experience has taught me that if I just sit down and do it, the process pushes itself in some ways. Ideas spark more ideas and you just keep going.

Having said that, I’ve also found that I can’t write every day. My brain needs recharging. But I don’t see a problem with that. I’ve written more this month than in any other month every, I think, and I’m happy with that.

One strange side effect seems to be that I can’t come up with good topics for this blog. I guess I’m concentrating on my story so much that any other creativity is sidelined, or something like that. Or maybe it means that, when I had an Internet connection at home, I spent too much time worrying about what I was gonna post here and not enough worrying about what was gonna go into one of my stories. Anybody else have any thoughts on that?

So, anyway, that’s where I’m at right now. I’ve established something of a routine, where I edit other stories in the morning and write late at night. For some reason, the creative bug doesn’t bite until at eight pm at the earliest. And then I have a hard time getting up from my computer.

Hope things are going great for everybody out there. Those of you who follow this and did NaNo, how did you do?

Later,

Gil

3 thoughts on “Just A Little Update

  1. JesiMarie

    I failed NaNo, but you know that 😛

    You’re luckier than I am about the time your creativity kicks in. Mine likes to hit at 2am. Did that the other day. I had been working on a story and had hit a spot of ‘eh, I don’t feel like working on it’ then I went to go to bed at 1:30am and I had the word document open for the story and was like ‘huh, I know what I want to happen…’ Then I started typing and it was 3:30 before I went to bed 0.o Crazy, I know.

    Oh well 🙂 Glad you’ve gotten so much written. Maybe you just need the lack of internet to get you going. I know that’s usually what keeps me from writing.

    Reply
    1. gilmiller Post author

      The Internet is a big distraction, that’s for sure. It’s too easy to hit a hard spot in your writing and go “Oh, well, I’ll go check my Faceboook” or something like that. Yeah, it feels good to be writing like this. Pipeline is up over 40,000 words now and I’m still going strong. Like it said, it just seems like the more I write, the more I come up with to write. Like the process fuels itself somehow. And I guess the best thing to do is write when the inspiration hits, since that’s how both of us work.

      Reply
  2. Russell

    I’ve been lazy lately too. My humor story that turned into a romance has me baffled. I don’t know anything about writing romance – and I sure don’t read the stuff. However, I am curious to see how the story is going to turn out and determined to keep hammering away till I fight my way through it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

