Another Random Post Thingy

So how many of you are doing NaNo?

I’m not. At least not officially. Why? Well, a variety of reasons, some of which involve the fact that I’ll be losing my Internet connection the 10th of this month so there’d be no way to turn it in, at least not practically speaking. My daughter tells me I don’t even have to have the full 50,000 words, and I think maybe she’s just wanting me to do NaNo with her, bless her heart. I’d kinda like to, and may well yet. Just not this year. So, this serves as warning to you: I won’t be able to post as regularly after next Wednesday unless a miracle occurs. In a nutshell, I’ve been out of work for almost two years and my unemployment ran out. End of story.

I decided, though, after thinking about it, that I’d try to do my own personal NaNo, a sort of PersoNaNo. Or would that be PersoNoWriMo? Yeah, maybe that fits a little better: Personal Novel Writing Month. I’ll still have my computer, and I need to work on writing more regularly anyway, so this will be a good excuse to do it. No set goal, just see what I can produce in a month. I’ll be sure to find a way to let you know. And I’ll still post on here as regularly as possible, too.

Maybe losing my Internet is a blessing in disguise anyway. I’d sit down at my computer and start to write and then think, Well, maybe I’ll just look online right quick, check my Facebook and maybe my blog, see if anybody decided I’m The World’s Greatest Author or anything. Not very conducive to productive writing. It used to be easier to ignore, in a way. Maybe I’m just needy since I started this blog lol.

Seriously, though, getting online can be a pain for me. I have to do it using wireless broadband through AT&T. For those of you who may not be familiar with what I’m talking about, you go to your local AT&T (Verizon has it to. Most cell phone providers do, I think) and buy a wireless broadband card. Basically, then you just use a data line on the cell towers to get online. It’s what I have to do. We only live a few miles out of town, but the providers don’t send broadband out here, and I have too many trees to my south to use satellite Internet. So I’m reduced to using this stupid card that doesn’t get a very good signal and leaves me surfing at dial-up speeds a lot. And dropping the signal a lot, too. Not a pretty picture. Sometimes I get so frustrated with it I want to throw the thing across the room. Ah, wonderful modern technology. We can put a man on the moon but can’t provide decent cell service ten miles outside a large town.

Well, this is supposed to be a writing blog, not a ranting blog. I’ll stop ranting now.

Actually, the frustrating thing about that is so many agents now want equeries. They don’t want you to send them anything via snail mail, so that might complicate matters a little.

Ah, well. I’ve got PersoNo (I’ll let that be my short name for it). I’m looking forward to it, to tell you the truth. I’ve started today, too. Wrote 2,189 words, about half in a new story I’m trying out and half in my Pipeline crime novel. Hmm, Maybe I should post an excerpt from that on here while I still can, just to change things out a little. Yeah, check the Writing Excerpt page (or whatever I called it).

Well, I know this isn’t a very substantial post. I mostly wanted to talk about PersoNo, let you know I’m doing it. But before I ramble too much, I think I’ll close for this time around.

Later,

Gil

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

