Random Stuff

Okay, I just want to throw out some random stuff related to writing on this one. It may not be very long, because it’s tired and I’m late. Er, I mean…well, you know.

First thing I wanna get to is over at Write To Done there’s a good article on how to do successful blogging called “7 Secrets of Successful Bloggers.” For people like me who are new to blogging, it’s helpful. Write To Done is a site that publishes articles twice a week that are helpful to writers. I only discovered it a few days ago, but from what I’ve seen it seems to cover writing from a sort of New Age-y perspective. Nothing wrong with that, except that I tend to like more concrete advice. I still check it out, though.

I’d also like you to go here and help my daughter out, if you would. Well, it’s not helping her directly, but you know what I mean. She’s looking for people to sponsor her for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo, or NaNo.> For those of you unfamiliar with it NaNo is an annual contest held every November in which participants try to write a 50,000 word (minimum) novel in 30 days. Quality doesn’t count, just quantity. The idea is to just get you to write so you build up confidence in yourself as an author. Anyway, if you decide you’d like to help her out:

It’s a sponsorship for NaNo, a lot like what runners do for marathons. The money goes to the Office of Letters and Light to keep NaNo going and get writing programs into schools. It’s a good investment if you ask me.

That’s a quote directly from her blog entry on it, since she says it better than me (and pasting it in keeps me from having to type it out lol). Look under my blogroll to see her blog, or just click here, because I’d like to see her get some sponsorship and readers. We authors/bloggers gotta look out for each other!

One last thing and I’m outta here: I wrote in my last post about the kinds of books I start wanting to read this time of year. Well, I tried reading a couple of different things in the way of fantasy but finally ended up starting a book called The Monkey’s Raincoat by Robert Crais. It’s the first of his Elvis Cole series of books. I’ve read some of the others that are about Elvis or his his partner Joe Pike and I highly recommend them. Elvis is something of a smart aleck (though funny), while Joe is the opposite. They’re set in LA. Anyway, since I’m working on a crime novel of my own, it never hurts to read in the genre you’re trying to write in, especially when it’s a good writer like Crais (his fans are called Craisies. Go figure). In all likelihood I’ll still get to the Shannara books over the winter, but right now I’m having more fun with Elvis and his first adventure. I would add that his novel LA Requiem garnered lots of praise. It’s a moving book, if you ask me.

Beyond that, not much else to say.

Later,

Gil

PS. No, I’ve not tried to do NaNo. I’m not sure if I want to or not, but I admire my daughter and her friend for doing it every year. There are other writing contests like that once you start looking, such as MilWordy (a million words in one year) and 6 Novels, 6 Months. Get started and you’ll be looking at all kinds of contests.

Leave a Reply

